Incoterms (ICC)

Incoterms® (ICC)

2020:  Most recent version, entry into force on January 1st, 2020

Previous versions: 1990, 2000, 2010

In September 2019, the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) launched the newest version of Incoterms®, the Incoterms® 2020. These rules will enter in application on January 1st, 2020.

The ICC’s official Incoterms® rules to be used as national and international trade terms. Incoterms® facilitate the transaction of world trade. They clearly identify and define the respective obligations of each of the parties in the trade, the Seller and the Buyer, for the delivery of goods specified in a sales contract; they greatly contribute to the reduction of inherent risks of legal disputes. Incoterms® essentially point out the obligation, costs and risks in relation to the sale and delivery of goods between a Seller and a Buyer.

The 2020 Incoterms®, numbering 11, are now incorporating specific guidance in the following elements: the growth of global trade giving a more immediate access to markets across the world, transactions of goods of all kinds have now reached a greater number of countries in greater quantities, more variety and at a faster rhythm. As volume and complexity of all these transactions increase, so do possibilities of misunderstandings, bringing forth expensive dispute settlements especially when sales contracts are not properly redacted.

The 2010 Incoterms® advisory notes are, along with the 2020 Incoterms®, detailed explanations legally binding as integral part of a contract. They are grouped, for each Incoterms®, under 10 sections (Obligations for each party). They represent good business practices regarding sales and purchases of goods between businesses (B2B).

The ICC, through a unique mix of advocacy, solutions and standard setting, promotes international trade, responsible business conduct and a global approach to regulation, in addition to providing market-leading dispute resolution services. This guarantees that the Incoterms® 2020 meet the needs of all companies worldwide.

To know more about Incoterms 2020, read entire article: The new ICC Incoterms 2020

To know more regarging Incoterms 2010, read entire article: The new ICC Incoterms® 2010 – ICRIQ.com, April 2011

Our interventions regarding Incoterms® would target such areas as:

Targeted elements in Incoterms®

  • The notions of “Seller” and “Buyer”
  • “Obligations” of parties (“Seller” and “Buyer”)
  • Customs formalities (import and/or export)
  • Documentation
  • Delivery
  • Transportation and cargo insurance
  • Checking and inspection of goods, packaging, markings
  • Risk transfer points : identification of the named place of delivery (risks of loss or of damage to the goods until they have been delivered in accordance to term)
  • Distribution of costs and fees

Management elements

  • Training, Support (coaching)
  • Strategy, Management, Support

IncoBoard© : Incoterms® 2020 available soon

IncoBoard© : Incoterms® 2010 – Obligations and responsibilities (Costs) – ICRIQ.com, April 2011

English

Incoterms (CCI)

Incoterms® (CCI)

Version 2020 : entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020

Versions précédentes : 1990, 2000,2010

En septembre 2019, la Chambre de Commerce Internationale (CCI) lançait la nouvelle version des Incoterms®, les Incoterms® 2020. Ces règles entreront en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020.

Il s’agit des Règles officielles des Incoterms® de la CCI pour l’utilisation des termes de commerce nationaux et internationaux. Les Incoterms® facilitent la conduite du commerce mondial. Ils définissent clairement les obligations respectives des parties, soit le Vendeur et l’Acheteur, pour la livraison des marchandises dans le cadre d’un contrat de vente/d’achat et réduisent le risque de complication juridique. Les Incoterms® indiquent essentiellement les tâches, les frais et les risques afférents à la livraison de marchandises par les Vendeurs aux Acheteurs.

Les Incoterms® 2020, au nombre de onze (11), tiennent maintenant comptent des éléments suivants : la croissance de l’économie mondiale qui donne un accès plus important aux marchés du monde entier. Les marchandises sont vendues dans un plus grand nombre de pays, en plus grande quantité, dans une plus grande variété et à un rythme plus élevé. Mais à mesure que le volume et la complexité du commerce mondial augmentent, les possibilités de malentendus et de litiges couteux augmentent également lorsque les contrats de vente ne sont pas correctement rédigés.

Les notes conseils des INCOTERMS® 2010 deviennent, avec les INCOTERMS® 2020, des interprétations explicatives ayant une valeur juridique faisant partie intégrante du contrat. Elles sont présentées, par règle INCOTERMS, sous dix (10) rubriques (Obligations de chacune des Parties). Elles représentent la pratique des affaires dans les contrats de vente et d’achat de marchandises entre commerçants (B2B).

La grande expertise d’ICC en droit commercial – issue d’un réseau mondial de membres représentant tous les secteurs commerciaux et les entreprises de toutes tailles – garantit que les Incoterms® 2020 répondent aux besoins des entreprises du monde entier.

Pour en savoir plus sur les Incoterms 2020, vous pouvez vous reférer à l’article : Les nouveaux Incoterms 2020 de la CCI

Pour en savoir plus sur les Incoterms 2010, vous pouvez vous référer à l’article : Les nouveaux Incoterms® 2010 de la CCI – ICRIQ.com, Avril 2011

Nos interventions sur les Incoterms® touchent entre autres :

Éléments cibles des Incoterms®

  • Notions de « Vendeur» et « d’Acheteur »
  • « Obligations » des parties (Vendeur et Acheteur)
  • Les formalités douanières (import et/ou export)
  • La documentation
  • La livraison
  • Transport et assurance cargo
  • Vérification et inspection des marchandises, emballage, marquage
  • Point de transfert des risques
  • Répartition des frais

Éléments de gestion

  • Formation, accompagnement (coaching)
  • Stratégie, gestion, support

Vous pouvez vous procurer « Incoterms®2020 » et les autres produits liés sur la nouvelle plateforme e-commerce de la CCI ICC Knowledge 2 Go sous le format imprimé ou le format digital.

Pour plus d’information et de détails : https://iccwbo.org/resources-for-business/incoterms-rules/incoterms-2020/

Tableau : Incoterms® 2010 – Obligations et responsabilités (Coûts) – ICRIQ.com, Avril 2011

 

Français